The proposals were approved by the cabinet in a meeting via video conferencing chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Odisha forms committee for reservation of govt school students in engineering, medical courses – education

The Odisha government on Thursday formed a “high-power” committee to make “necessary” recommendations regarding the reserve of state high school students in engineering and medical courses, according to an official statement.

This comes after the state cabinet on December 28, 2020 proposed a reservation for students who passed from government schools to enter various medical and engineering colleges. The proposals were approved by the cabinet in a meeting via videoconference chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Dr. Judge AK Mishra, born in Jaipur in 1958 and a retired judge of the Odisha High Court, will head the committee. Previously, he was Director of the Odisha Judicial Academy, CBI Special Judge and Secretary General of the Odisha High Court.

Other members of said committee are — Prof Ashok Kumar Das Former Vice Chancellor of Utkal University and former Head of the Division of Laser and Plasma Technology at BARC, Vice President of the Odisha State Council for Higher Education – Member, Prof (Dr ) CBK Mohanty, Director, Medical Education and Training, Odisha – Member, BS Poonia, IAS, President, Council of Higher Secondary Education, Odisha – Member, G Reghu, IAS, Director, Technical Education and Training, Odisha – Member and Dr. AK Nayak, OEA, Co-Secretary of Government, SD&TE Department – Coordinating Member.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *