36 named in chargesheet in Assam Police exam paper leak scam – education

Assam police filed a charge sheet in special court here on Friday against 36 people for their alleged involvement in the state police examination document leak scam.

The 2,621-page charge sheet included the names of former Karimganj SP Kumar Sanjit Krishna, expelled BJP leader Dibon Deka, and retired DIG PK Dutta.

The charge sheet was filed within 87 days of the first arrest in the case, IGP Criminal Investigation Department Surendra Kumar told reporters.

He said the 1,217-page diary of the case has also been archived and the names of 183 people have been mentioned as prosecution witnesses, he said.

The confessional statements of five people arrested were recorded by the Judicial Magistrate in connection with the case, Kumar said.

The state police had seized Rs 6.27 million in cash, 32 mobile phones, 11 digital video recorders, five laptops, and ten vehicles, including a two-wheeler.

In total, 40 people, including former Karimganj SP Kumar Sanjit Krishna, retired DIG PK Dutta and expelled BJP leader Dibon Deka, have been arrested, Kumar said.

The case was registered after Pradeep Kumar, then president of the State Police Contracting Board (SLPRB), filed a complaint. He had resigned from office, taking moral responsibility for the scam.

On September 20, the written exam questionnaire for 597 positions of unarmed deputy inspectors in the Assam Police was leaked, and the test was canceled by the SLPRB minutes after it began.

Some 66,000 candidates had downloaded their admission cards to appear in written tests at 154 centers in all districts.

After Kumar’s resignation, the government had reconstituted the SLPRB with the state DGP as its chair, and a new examination was carried out on November 22 and the results were declared on December 12.

In total, 3,162 candidates have qualified for the next round of testing for the positions.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button